It’s All a Blur

Standard

It doesn’t matter what I’m doing, I feel like I’ve just done that, and that’s what I am always doing. When I’m at work, I feel like I’m ALWAYS at work. When I’m sitting at football practice, I feel like “I was just here. I’m always here”. Same with getting ready in the morning, or getting ready for bed at night. It feels like the days are so long, yet they go by so fast. I remember when I was in high school wishing that I were older, and that I’d be done with school. Now I’ve been graduated 15 years, and I don’t know what happened to that time. Elijah was JUST born- but in 10 days it will have been 11 years ago.  I almost can’t grasp that. Time moves incredibly slow when we are young. I can’t figure out if it’s because we have no concept of time, or because we have absolutely nothing to worry about. The only things we have on our mind are who are we going to play/hang out with later today, and I wonder if I can have some ice cream before bed.

As adults you have a million and one things that go through your mind at one time, and once you have kids, even more, if that’s possible. There are so many things that vie for your attention, it’s no wonder we are racing from here to there. Work, kids, bills, spouse (if applicable), grocery shopping, bills, gas in the car, what’s for dinner, work, kids- the list literally never stops, and we always have something to do, something to think about. Even when it’s time to relax, the mind is constantly going, racing through your thoughts and determining what’s next. I wonder how different  time would feel if we actually slowed down and enjoyed life. If we stopped cramming 29 hours worth of stuff into 24 hours. What if we actually got to enjoy everything that we were trying to do?

Is it possible to slow down and enjoy life?

Is it even possible to make it feel like time is slowing down, or is this some sort of affliction we must deal with? The longer you live, the quicker it goes type of thing. I’d love to be able to feel like I’m not constantly rushing from point A to point B. Not only do I want to enjoy the points in life, I want to be able to enjoy the journey to them.  To stop and smell the roses so to speak.

I don’t want to blink and see that another 30 years has gone by- I want to be able to enjoy the time NOW. To remember all the fun I’ve had with my son, and fill my head with memories, not to-do lists.

I feel like I’m taking a ride on this thing called life, and it’s going so fast I can’t even see straight.

12 thoughts on “It’s All a Blur

  1. Ah, I feel like this is my life recently. I only have a 15 month old, but I’m always racing around doing the same things. Hopefully with the next baby, I’ll be able to slow down, a little? Ha!

    Found you via MBC!
    Tracie
    weddedblissplusbaby.blogspot.com

  2. Hi Dear Shel!

    I can really identify and the part about what is on a kid’s mind was really funny! Here’s one simple way to make a few happy memories before the days/weeks/months/years are gone. On Sunday, the weather was so lovely that I made an easy picnic dinner and our family went to our local Botanical Gardens. We all enjoyed ourselves, even my teenagers, and I probably wouldn’t have bothered if we didn’t have a little girl who loves picnics. :)

    Also, I’ve been doing a series on “Working Moms” over on my mom blog, Happy Moms, Happy Homes. Hopefully it will encourage you!

    God bless!
    Tina – mom of 4 and author of 5 blogs
    http://happymomshappyhomes.blogspot.com

  3. I totally agree. Someone told me once to consciously practice being mindful no matter how much you race around. I thought it was silly at first, but after a while it actually started working. You’re supposed to take a moment in your day and jsut step back and be in that moment instead of thinking of the million other things on your mind. It didn’t rock my world, but it helped. :)

Care to add anything? Play nice please...

