Amish Amos is it?

Standard

 

There is this man who walks around town All. The. Time. Elijah and I call him Amish Amos, although I’m almost certain that’s not his name. And he probably isn’t Amish. (I’m not trying to be disrespectful by calling him Amish, but he has the signature look that many Amish do. And plus it went with Amos, soo…) But he looks sad. Not even just sad, but SAD sad. Where my heart would almost want to break because he looked so sad. He wonders through town, head down, and always walks in the road. Even where there are sidewalks. He always wears the same clothes, and he often wears a heavy winter coat when it was barely even jacket weather. I often wondered if he had family or friends? Did he even have a home? Did he have enough to eat? What did he do when it rained, or was 20 degrees out? These were the questions I always thought of when I saw him. Often times I would see him coming from the grocery store, so I knew he had to have a little bit of money, at least enough to buy SOMEthing to eat.

Well, yesterday I stopped at Giant Eagle on my way home from work to grab a few things. I got in line, and oh my goodness- Amish Amos was in front of me! He has money for food- this made me happy. He had bought several cans of beef ravioli and some sort of pasta from the deli (Obviously, I’m assuming you’ll want to know what he bought, just like I did). I was thinking it’s good he has money for food, but too bad he is just buying cans of beef ravioli. At least he’s eating though, right? His hands were shaking like crazy when he was paying for his bill, and he was having a hard time with the addition of how much he owed- yet another reason I felt compassion for him. His purchase was put into a paper bag, and the gal was getting his change for him. At the end of the checkout, there are extra bags, some flyers, and a couple of advertisements. He was looking at them, and started freaking out. He was first saying things like “Oh no, this won’t do” and “Evil”  and “What is he going to do now?”. I was trying to see what the problem was without being too obviously nosy, but couldn’t tell what was bothering him so much. The woman asked if everything was OK, and he said No, but it would be, and then started talking about witchcraft. Now I was even more curious- what kind of witchcraftery was Giant Eagle participating in now?? She asked if he wanted his change and he said no- “Throw it away. Throw the receipt away, and the change. I’m going to throw away my groceries and come back and buy everything again” and he walks away. So I moved up since it was my turn, and the girl asked how I was, and I said “I think I’m doing better than he is”. She chuckled and said “Oh my gosh- he comes in all the time and thinks everything is Witchcraft. This is what set him off today”, and she’s pointing to a picture. Wanna know what that was??

Yup- that’s the logo for The United Way. She said he will often leave a line if he thinks a piece of jewelry or other accessory is witchcraft (for instance she had a flower in her hair once, and he left the line because he thought it was). I watched and he threw away his bag of groceries, and started his shopping all over again. She said he has a nice amount of money that was left to him by a family member (although I’m not sure how she knew this). That made me feel better- he at least has money and a place to live, so I can stop ‘worrying’ about that I guess. I can stop feeling sorry for him for being broke and homeless- and start feeling sorry for him because he’s clearly not right in the head. Again- I’m not trying to be disrespectful or derogatory here- I’m just stating what I observed- he seems to fixated on the fact that everything is Witchcraft. And that’s a little sad that he can’t enjoy life normally.

With yesterday’s discovery, I’ve decided his new name is “Witchcraft Willie.”

3 thoughts on “Amish Amos is it?

  1. I see him all the time too. Eric and I were driving and he asked who he was. I told him I see him all over town. At Giant Eagle he bought, two gallons of water. Good to know he has money and isn’t homeless.

Care to add anything? Play nice please...

