A-MAZE-ing Chocolate Cake

Standard

Ok, so the actual cake itself wasn’t the amazing part. It was the icing. This amazing mouth-watering deliciously sweet and will make you gain weight like you gain wrinkles icing. The other night I was craving chocolate something fierce. And you women know, when we want chocolate, we. want. chocolate. NOW. So I had this cake mix from Aldi’s and thought it would do- but I wasn’t sure it was REALLY what I was looking for. Plus  I didn’t have icing for it. So I did a little Google search and stumbled upon this amazing recipe here at The Pioneer Woman blog. Amazing doesn’t even begin to explain it. Anyways, I didn’t make her cake since I already had a mix. I just made the icing, and if the cake in anything as good as the icing, I can say that yes, it’s the best.

So, here’s what I did: I made 1 chocolate cake mix, and added chocolate chips to the batter for that extra chocolate kick. I cooked it, it was pretty-ish (but it did smell good :)

After that, the real magic began. I melted 1 and 1/4 sticks of butter in a saucepan (apparently, the recipe called for 1 and 3/4 sticks of butter. I obviously did it wrong and didn’t realize it until right now. But even with 1/2 stick of butter less, it was still delish). Once it was melted, I added 4 heaping tablespoons of cocoa butter, and let it bubble for 30 seconds. Turn off the heat. Add 6 tablespoons of milk, and 1 teaspoon vanilla. Stir. Add 1 pound (minus 1/2 cup, whatever that equals to. If she wasn’t going to do the math, neither was I) to the mixture and mix well to remove all the powdered sugar clumps. It will be silky smooth like so

Dump that right on top of the warm cake that you hopefully already made and it will be gorgeous like so

Then since I had some powdered sugar left over, I sprinkled it on top and it was even gorgeous-er like so

And then your son (or daughter, or husband, or you- hey, I don’t judge) can eat it like an animal, like so

Mmmmmm- cake

This was so good. I think even though the icing has more fat in it than anything I’ve ever eaten before, I’m going to continue to use it to deliciously poison my family at happy events :) It’s too good not too.

Care to add anything? Play nice please...

