Friday Night Lights

Standard

Or Saturday afternoon sunshine for the little folk. In any case, it’s football season! I never thought I’d be excited to watch football games and practices, but I actually am. Elijah decided he wanted to play football this year. At first I was nervous- I mean, I can’t imagine any mom not being nervous for their baby to get with a whole bunch of boys in helmets and pads and try to crush each other. His excitement, coupled with my nephews (who is also playing in the same league-yay), has started to get to me.

My son is not exactly a workout-kind of kid, who is driven to run and wear himself out on purpose, which is where my nervousness comes in. He is more of an “I’ll do it later” kind of kid, or “I’d rather sit here and watch someone else do it” kind of kid. I know that football takes dedication and hard work, and I worry he’s getting himself into something he isn’t going to enjoy. And he’s worried that since this is his first year, he isn’t going to understand the plays as well as the boys who have played for years.  He thinks he’s going to look like this out there:

I think that he’ll be fine, and once he really gets into it, he’ll feel better, and be able to enjoy it (I hope). He has no choice but to play out the season- I told him once he signed up, he isn’t allowed to quit. So whether he likes it or not, he’s in it for the long haul. But I’d much rather have four months of happy having fun Lijah then this:

Practice AGAIN?!?!

7 thoughts on “Friday Night Lights

  1. Oh my gosh, those pictures are crackin’ me up!! hahahah That is great your son is in football! I always enjoyed going to my friend’s son football games.

  2. Love the funny photos! So cute! I’ve been blogging for over a year now but I know nothing about SEO or getting followers. I’ve just been writing it like a diary almost, going through some serious highs and lows. Just now starting to get curious about learning about how to navigate the social networking stuff. I see you have tag words. That’s probably some of that SEO stuff, right? I don’t know how to do it yet.

    • Hey Jeanne- thanks! Honestly, I’m new to blogging as well, so I don’t know too much yet- I’m still learning everyday. But I added the tag words since I know they are important to help a search engine find your blog if someone searches for them. Granted, I’m sure mine would be no where near the top of the search, but I figured everybit helps 🙂

  3. Hahahaha, this is great! Gavin will help cheer him on or poke him when needed…he is excited to teach Elijah everything he has learned in his long career with the NFL…;OP

Care to add anything? Play nice please...

