Bullying

Standard

   OK, so everyone knows that bullying is a problem now-a-days. And most parents want to believe that their kid wouldn’t be a bully. I think some couldn’t care less. And then there are the ones who just refuse to believe that their child would ever do something like that and ignore it. I like to think of myself as group numero uno. If Elijah is being mean to someone, I want to know, and I want to figure out why and how to correct the situation. There have been a few isolated events over the years where a child has been mean to him, and it breaks my heart- I certainly don’t want him to inflict pain on someone else.

Recently there was an incident at the summer camp he attends. A little boy had gotten upset with him and thrown a basketball at him, and then he intentionally tripped him and was openly happy when he fell. I spoke to the counselors there, and told Elijah to just avoid this kid, but in a nice way. Once the counselors spoke to his parents, the dad told my sister that turns out Elijah was bullying his son for the last few weeks. I’m sorry, what?!?? But most importantly, he wanted that to stay between him and her. Really dude- my kid is bullying yours and you don’t want me to be aware of it?? That to me makes no sense- how can we fix the situation if I’m not even to know? Of course she told me, being the good sister that she is, but if she hadn’t, how am I to know?

If this were an isolated event, I may have just let it go. But I kinda know these kids, and I know how they act. I know my son isn’t the only one who he’s mean to- he’s mean to my nephew as well as others, and says my nephew has actually  been bullying him for the last year and a half. I don’t enjoy causing riffs with people, but I REALLY don’t enjoy people being mean to my son(and nephew!) and accusing him of things. Like I said, if he were to bully, I want to be the first to know so we can correct the situation, and move on. Not just sweep it under the rug with more accusations and call it a day.

Someone at work suggested that if something else were to happen, I talk to the director and request a meeting with parents and kids, and we can all figure this out together. I really want to get to the source of the issue here, not just throw accusations around. I know there is a history with this particular child that extends to others in this camp. Clearly there is something going on here. I know it’s hot out, and that makes people cranky, and boys will be boys, blah blah blah- but I think this kind of goes over that. Maybe I’m making too much of this situation, but I want to nip this in the bud whatever it is.

8 thoughts on “Bullying

  1. Following over from Blogaholics. This is so true that bullying has gotten worse over the years. I wouldn’t want to be going through grade school nowadays. But you never know which children are the bullies until you hear it from someone else. My daughter can be mean sometimes. I don’t think she is a bully, but I do know she can fight back and have a little mean streak.

    • Hi jfay! You’re so right- there are two sides to every story, and kids will tell you what they want to hear. Which is why I think it’s so important for parents to try to get both sides, from an adult on the outside who will tell you just the facts. That way parents can assess the situation and see it for what it really is 🙂

      • Ricky says that there are 3 sides yours, theirs, and the truth. I think you need to get to the bottom of this. Probably a meeting with all involved would be a “good” thing. Cool heads will prevail.

  2. hello, new follower from blogaholic network. Pleae follow back at http://nettesbookshelf.blogspot.com
    Being a mother to three boys, I know what it’s like to be on both ends of that stick. It’s never pleasant-the one thing that I constantly have to remind myself of is that I can’t fight their battles but I can guide them into being strong individuals. Good Luck. It’s hard to tame the mama bear when her cubs are being threatened.

Care to add anything? Play nice please...

