Let the Games Begin

Standard

Now that football practice has been in session for a couple of weeks, I’m able to get a better feel for how Elijah feels about it. I was worried that he wasn’t going to like all the physical labor involved in it. He hasn’t complained about that yet, and I can even tell he’s getting faster when he runs. The thing that worries me though is his sweet-tempered disposition. Being just me and him growing up, he didn’t get the roughhousing that many boys do. I’d much rather sit in a corner and read a book or watch a movie, and he’d rather do this:

Lego’s with his best friend

So now in practices he’s got the coach yelling in his face to “Get rough!!!” and “Get nasty!!!” Personally, I think it’s quite amusing listening to someone to tell my 10-year-old son to get nasty; but he’s having a hard time getting there. I tried telling him to pretend that these kids are making fun of me, or *gasp* his grandma, and he needs to get angry, get tough. He’s a big kid, so I know that he could use his size to his advantage if he would just let loose. I almost just want to really and truly tick him off right before the next practice, just to see if he would use that out on the field. Somehow I just think that is a bad idea though.  Any pointers or suggestions from people who have been in the same shoes? Is this something he will work through? I mean, I’m not looking for a mean kid; just one who isn’t afraid to go out there and take someone down when he needs to.

4 thoughts on “Let the Games Begin

  1. I think he just needs time. I’m thinking back to when I my daughter started diving. It was months before she’d even jump off the 3 meter board – feet first. Soon after that, though, she was diving and doing all kinds of fun things she hadn’t imagined trying before. It took time. Time to become comfortable moving her body in a new way, and time to learn her ability and become confident in what she was doing.

    At the same time, she didn’t jump off that board by herself. She actually asked to be pushed off, because she knew right then that she didn’t have the guts to do it herself. After that, she couldn’t wait to show everyone what she could do (at age 11). She no longer dives, but she’s very open to trying new things. I think that’s part of the growing and gaining confidence in yourself piece.

  2. I wish that I had some great advice. I have two boys so they are always fighting etc. I do know that my oldest was always very mild mannered until he started sports last year and he took to sports very easily, he loves how competitive it is, which is great! New email follower from blogaholic, I look forward to your future posts!

Care to add anything? Play nice please...

