I Read a Book!

Standard

 

What I mean is, I read a book and didn’t feel guilty while reading it! While I was taking classes, I never was able to read a book without the guilt. So for 5 years I felt bad for reading anything that wasn’t purchased at school, or for school. And who wants to feel bad for feeding your brain?? 🙂 I always felt like I should be doing something else besides reading for fun. Like homework, studying, or housework. I’ve always loved reading as much as I could, and was always reading growing up, but school would put a damper on that. This was the first time in a LONG time I could read enjoyably, without that nagging voice in the back of my head. So, this was the book I read

To say it was just a good book, would be a complete understatement. I started this book Sunday early evening and wasn’t able to put it down until the next night when I was turning the last page.  For those who have never heard of this book, this is the description, as read from Amazon:

“When the NSA’s invincible code-breaking machine encounters a mysterious code it cannot break, the agency calls its head cryptographer, Susan Fletcher, a brilliant, beautiful mathematician. What she uncovers sends shock waves through the corridors of power. The NSA is being held hostage–not by guns or bombs — but by a code so complex that if released would cripple U.S. intelligence. Caught in an accelerating tempest of secrecy and lies, Fletcher battles to save the agency she believes in. Betrayed on all sides, she finds herself fighting not only for her country but for her life, and in the end, for the life of the man she loves.”

I’m a big Dan Brown fan. I’ve read Angels and Demons, The Lost Symbol, Da Vinci Code, and loved them all. I love the fast paced, on the edge of your seat feeling while reading his books. So when I saw this book, it was doubly interesting to me since it was about cryptography, and was authored by Dan Brown. ( I went to school for Homeland Security and Computer Forensics, and cryptography was one of the more interesting classes I took) I thought it had a perfect mix of suspense, mystery and realistic-ness wrapped in one. I literally could not stop reading it and unfortunately nearly completely ignored my sister (Sorry TT!!) when she came over to visit- but it was next to impossible to pay attention to anything else.

I recommend this book to anyone. You don’t have to be technical to understand all the terminology in the book- Mr. Brown is pretty good at explaining everything in laymen terms at the beginning of the book, and throughout.

Any suggestions for my next book to read?

4 thoughts on “I Read a Book!

  1. I didn’t know he had a new one! I like his stuff. Might have to check that out. Never stop reading. Even if it’s for “fun” you’re still learning. I have an account on Goodreads. Look for me as mutantsupermodel of course. You can see what I have read to get some ideas. I think you might like the Parasol Protectorate series by Gail Carriger. It is REALLY fun

Care to add anything? Play nice please...

