Mmmmmm- Chili

Standard

I love Chili- It’s one of my favorite Fall/Winter time foods. It’s been chilly here the last few days and nights, so I decided I was going to make a batch for this weekend. I got the recipe from All Recipes and it’s cooking as we speak. I had a tiny taste of it before I left for work today, and all I can say is this day is going by WAY too slow. Here’s what you need:

1 pound of ground beef (I actually used 2. I like meaty chili)
3/4 cup diced onion
3/4 cup diced green pepper
3/4 cup diced celery
2 gloves garlic, minced
2 cans (10.75 ounce) tomato puree (I used one giant 29 ounce can)
1 can kidney beans with liquid (I drained half of it- I like thick chili)
1 can kidney beans drained
1 can white kidney beans with liquid (Again- I drained half of it)
1/2 teaspoon chili powder
1/2 teaspoon dried parsley
1 teaspoon salt
3/4 teaspoon dried basil
3/4 teaspoon dries oregano
1/4 teaspoon black pepper
1/8 teaspoon hot pepper sauce (I didn’t have any, so I didn’t add this)

I browned the beef last night, threw it in the crock pot, and put in the fridge. This morning I just added everything in, gave it a stir, and turned the crock pot on low for 8 hours, and call it a day.

Clearly, these are the spices you need

Beef with green peppers, onions, and celery

Added spices

And the beans. I like to use dark and light kidney beans, with the white- I like variety. Plus, I don’t like to discriminate

I can’t lie- my stomach totally just growled looking at this picture

I love chili with a little bit of shredded cheese and a dollop of sour cream on top. Mm-mmmmmm perfection. And my seester is coming over tonight to share the love- perfect Friday night 🙂

I know there are many variations to chili out there- what do you guys do differently?

9 thoughts on “Mmmmmm- Chili

  1. Pingback: Corn Dog Muffins « Chatter from a Single Mom

  2. We like it a little on the sweeter side and usually add a little cinnamon and brown sugar (think Cincinnati style) Also love having it over fritos. SO good!

    Now I want to make Chili 🙂

  3. Thanks for sharing this recipe, it looks really delicious.. Hope to try this someday.. Already your facebook follower.. Hope you have a wonderful week..

Care to add anything? Play nice please...

