Now That’s Service

Standard

I have been a bad little blogger- I feel like I have neglected my blog lately! I have ideas written down all over the place, and usually when I’m trying to fall asleep at night, I think of some AH-mazing ideas, and then the morning comes, and along with it the thousand things you must do that day. And it seems like blogging always takes a back seat to everything else that must be done, know what I mean? So now I’m trying to play catch up with all these ideas I have 🙂

I bought a new car back in July. And by new I mean used, but it was new to me. It’s the newest car I’ve ever had- two years old and not a lot of miles on it. And it’s pretty 🙂 I don’t know a lot about cars, but I know something pretty when I see it. In all seriousness, the previous car I had had a ridiculous amount of miles, it was old, and parts of it were literally tied to the car to keep them from falling off. It was loud, old and embarrassing. It shook if I drove too fast. It had a pididdle the entire time I had it (not because I was too lazy to replace the headlight but because it of course was a bigger problem than just a bulb). It felt like it was going to stall out if I were stopped too long at a red light. I was getting to the stage where I was afraid every time I drove it because I just wanted to get where I was going. I hadn’t had a car payment in years and I really didn’t want one- didn’t think I could really afford one. But I had finally come to a place where I had to get a car. I had some money for a down payment, went to VanDevere with a girlfriend (because that’s where she had just bought her a new car and had a great experience), and fell in love with the Mazda 6. Silver. Shiny. Quiet. I was able to get the monthly car payment less what I wanted, which is always a good thing. But the most important thing is that I now feel safe in my car, and not worrying driving somewhere at night with Elijah. And that felt like a HUGE weight off my shoulders when I bought it. Yes, I now have a car payment, but I don’t have to worry about anything breaking or falling off of it.

Its totally pretty, right?

Also, when I bought my car it came with a lifetime warranty. Yes, I said lifetime. It obviously doesn’t cover everything, but it covers the engine and transmission, among other things. And it’s free. If the tranny goes out, they will replace it. No cost to me. Only catch- I have to get my service done there, or at another approved garage. I’m OK with that. Especially since if I choose to get my maintenance work done at the dealership I bought my car, they will come pick up my car, take it to the shop and service it, and then bring it back to me. How genius is that?!? They don’t charge anything extra, they don’t over-charge on the servicing, and the actual customer service there is second to none. I loved that they did this- I could go to work and they could handle all that for me, and I don’t miss any pay because I have to take off work to service my car.

Maybe this is normal service from dealerships? The first time I bought a car it was an OK car, but if the dealership had any services like that I was unaware.  My second car was I bought at one of those tiny used dealerships and paid cash for it. That was a crap car, and a crap deal, and I would never recommend them to anyone. But when I went to VanDevere, it was like a whole new world. Granted these people are striving for your business, but the service they give out is awesome. I get random phone calls from them to ensure I’m enjoying my car, or that my recent service trip was good. Based on my own personal experience, they would be my first choice to go to in the future when it’s time for a new car. Obviously that’s why they do what they do, but it’s working on this girl here 🙂

Care to add anything? Play nice please...

