Chicken Nuggets

Standard

I know that I had already previously posted a Chicken Bites recipe, but this is even better! Plus, that was more like a ‘shake-n-bake’ type thing, that made me feel like I was cheating calling it a recipe. I based this recipe on one I found here, but did make some changes, and I didn’t do the ‘special sauce’ (I use plain old ketchup or ranch dressing). Here is how I did the batter:

1/2 cup flour
1/2 cup corn starch
2 teaspoons salt
1 teaspoon chili powder
1 teaspoon dill weed
1 teaspoon garlic powder
2 eggs
2 tablespoons vegetable oil
1/3 cup buttermilk

I poured about 2 inches of oil in a large pot to fry the chicken in. Cut the chicken into bite sized pieces (I got a pound and a half of tenderloin at Aldi’s for $3.76). After mixed the batter together I coated the chicken in it. Fry until chicken turns golden brown. Remove from oil and allow to drain on paper towels.

As the original recipe stated, I did put all the chicken back in the oil for a few minutes to make it a little crisper.

After the second run through in the oil

This was the second time making this in 3 days- another HUGE hit with Elijah. He requested I make these last night after making it Friday night as well. Although these are NOT one of the healthiest dinners, it really is delicious!

Care to add anything? Play nice please...

