Homemade Laundry Soap

Standard

I have been researching making laundry soap for quite a while now, and have literally been so overwhelmed by all the different recipes out there. I finally decided on this one from Blissful 55. I thought it’d be great to make my own detergent and save some money, but I envisioned that homemade soap would smell bad- and I love the smell of freshly washed clothes and detergent. I finally went out yesterday and bought all the ingredients for it. I was so excited to make it, I forgot to take pictures like I normally do, so I only have a couple! 

You’ll need:

1 (4lb 12 oz) Box of Borax (Detergent aisle)

1 (3 lb) Container of OxyClean (Detergent aisle)

2 (2 lb) Boxes of Arm & Hammer Baking Soda (Detergent aisle)

1 (3 lb 7 oz) Box of Arm & Hammer Super Washing Soda (Detergent aisle)

2 (14.1 oz) Bars of Zote Soap (My store didn’t have this so instead I bought Fels-Naptha, which may be found either in the detergent aisle, or the body wash aisle depending on the store)

1-2 (55 oz) Bottle of Purex Crystals Fabric Softener- This was optional in their recipe, but sure does make it smell good!

This was ridiculously easy- the only part that I didn’t care for was grating the soap down. I bought a 5-gallon Rubbermaid tote at Wal-Mart for $4 to hold the detergent and to make it easier to mix (it was about 2/3 full after mixing this together).

Purex Crystals and Fels-Naptha

20 Mule Team Borax and Super Washing Soda

The store I went to didn’t have the softener crystals, so I just bought the laundry enhancer instead (I have a fabric softener bar in my dryer, so fabric softener wasn’t a huge concern). I bought the Dollar General version of OxyClean for half the cost.

Here is the finished product in all it’s glory

Laundry soap

Finished laundry soap

 This smells so good. I was actually excited to do laundry for once and my clothes smell amazing. The best apart is- you only need 1 or 2 tablespoons for a load, depending on how big or dirty it is. 1 tablespoon. 1. That blew my mind- which just shows how much fillers are in the store bought detergents. This should last me forever, but if not forever, a good 9-12 months I’d guess.

2 thoughts on “Homemade Laundry Soap

  1. Hey boo, how much did all that stuff end up costing? I think I may have to do this considering the mass amounts of laundry I do!

Care to add anything? Play nice please...

