Red Velvet Crackle Cookies

Standard

I am participating in a cookie exchange this year, for the first time. I debated about what kind to bring for a while. I originally decided on Brown Sugar Crackle Cookies but then I saw this recipe on a blog I subscribe to, Can’t Stay Out of the Kitchen, and decided that these cookies looked more Christmas-y than the Brown Sugar ones. This recipe is also on the side of every Duncan Hines Red Velvet cake mix, so easy access all around.

Here is what you will need:

6 tbsp. butter, melted, and set aside to cool
1 cup powdered sugar
1 tsp. cornstarch
1 box Red Velvet cake mix
2 large eggs
1 tsp. lemon zest

Preheat oven to 375°. Melt butter; set aside to cool. Place powdered sugar and cornstarch in shallow dish. Mix with a fork to blend.

image (3)

Place cake mix in a bowl and press out the lumps with a fork or potato masher.

image (2)

Add cooled butter, eggs, and lemon zest in large mixing bowl. Stir with a wooden spoon until well blended and a soft dough forms. Do your best to work out all the small lumps from the cake mix. Form dough into small 1-inch balls.

photo (9)

Roll in powdered sugar mixture until well coated. Place on cookie sheets covered in parchment paper, or cooking spray to prevent sticking.

image (1)

Bake about 9-11 minutes at 375° or until cracks form in cookies and cookies test done (mine all cooked at exactly 10 minutes each batch, 12 cookies on a pan, 1 pan at a time).

image

Allow cookies to cool. Store in airtight container. Makes about 2-1/2 dozen cookies.

I had to make about 90 cookies for the cookie exchange, and this didn’t take nearly as long as I had expected it would. I would like to caution you- my hands were red for a few hours after making these though. Make sure you wash your hands thoroughly after each batch of rolling or better yet- wear gloves 🙂

6 thoughts on “Red Velvet Crackle Cookies

  1. Hi Shel,

    I absolutely loved this recipe, and my daughter, Julia loved the batter (a ramekin dish)!!! ha ha. All I can say is it’s a good thing it’s not very often.

    I have a question though. I would love to include this recipe in my recipe book I am writing on my Mom. She passed away about 11 years ago to colon cancer and next year it is going on 12. I told my family and friends this summer that I am going to publish a book on her with Kindle Publishing. Memories of Mom, Stories and Family Recipes from a Beautiful life.

    It’s going to have lots of my Mom’s recipes in it, my Grammy’s, Nana’s, aunts, etc… mine too, and I would like to include a section of recipes from some of my blogger friends. This one would be awesome. Of course this time, we have only four red velvet crackle cookies left!!!! They went fast.

    I’m thinking I will make them again and would like to arrange some of them in a really pretty picture at the top of the page. With my flowers, etc…..

    I’ve already placed it in my book somewhere with the name of your recipe, your name and the name of your blog. If you would like me to include it, please let me know if there is anything else you would like me to include. Link or url to blog, etc….

    It’s going to of course be a while before I publish this as it just takes time, and I really want to publish the first book in my The Glorious Money Tree trilogy first. I am seriously hoping I can get my act together for next year for at least one of the books.

    All the books are going to include my photography also, two blows in one. And my illustrations, drawings, etc… Which means, I need to make many of these recipes!!!! So, people will also be enticed by pictures.

    I’m hoping next year for this recipe book too, but possibly more like the following year. This is primarily a book for my family and friends who remember and miss my Mom, but it may reach a wider audience with my beautiful cover. Last fall, I arranged a set up on the lawn with hydrangea flowers, my Nana’s picture, my Mom’s, paper butterflies, and my Mom’s old fashioned gloves. Because of the gloves in picture, my sister thought that could reach a wider audience covering different generations.

    Thanks again for an awesome recipe. I can see myself whipping up those often and definitely for Valentines Day.

    Have a great holiday and a Happy New Year!

    Jennifer

    ________________________________

    • Hi Jennifer! Thanks so much for wanting to put this in your book! I’d love a link to my blog from it if you don’t mind- that’s so thoughtful of you 🙂 I’m so glad you enjoyed them. They are definitely perfect for Valentine’s Day as well with that red. Let me know when you finish the book- I’d love to get a copy!!

      Enjoy your New Years!

Care to add anything? Play nice please...

