A Year End Review

Standard

It’s almost Christmas (eek!). Almost the New Year. And just like last year, the end of the year rush snuck right up on me. Another year lived, another year gone. I’ve learnt a lot about myself this year, a lot about Elijah. Here are some of the biggest changes in my life this past year.

Studliest of them all.

Studliest of them all.

I’ve Learned to Love Football
This is perhaps the most shocking. I’ve never hated it, but I’ve never been a *huge* fan either. Basically I could take a game or leave it. I think this I have to credit to Elijah and his involvement in football this past year. Watching him in practices and games, has given me a better (still not a full) understanding of the game and what all the rules are. Knowledge makes me like it ūüôā I actually look forward to going to my dads house on Sunday’s now to watch whatever game is on. (And I’ve enjoyed watching the Browns actually win a few games this year!)

Found Out Who My Friends Were
I’ve lost some friends and gained some this year. Sometimes it doesn’t matter how long you’ve known someone, it’s time to cut the cord. Most people grow and change- but sometimes they don’t. If you have to wonder what a ‘friend’ could be saying about you behind your back at all times- that’s not a friend. I’ve learned I’d rather have a few close, and trustworthy, friends, then several casual.

I Found an Amazing Job
I’ve said it a thousand times, and I’ll probably say it a thousand more. I am so blessed to have been given this¬†opportunity¬†to work where I do. It’s fun, I love the people I work with, and the Boss Men are awesome. I know I am appreciated here, and I can’t imagine ever wanting to work anywhere else than right here.

This is my absolute favorite picture of us from many moons ago.

This is my absolute favorite picture of us from many moons ago.

My Seester and I Have Really Bonded
She and I have grown really close over the past year, and for that I am really grateful. Of course we still have our moments, but she is now the first person I want to tell when something good, or bad, happens to me. She’s awesome and I lurve her.

Blood Isn’t Always Thicker Than Water
I’ve learned a lot this year, and it just isn’t. No matter how hard you try, sometimes you just can’t force your way into somewhere you don’t belong.

I’ve Come to Realize God is a Necessity in My Life
I need Him, plain and simple. I wish I was a better person. I need to pray more, and I need to read the Bible more. I wish I had more of a heart like His. I’m certainly not perfect, and I know that I couldn’t have been able to accomplish half the things I’ve wanted to without Him guiding and leading me along the way.

The World is a Sad and Scary Place
We all know this, this is nothing new. Mass shootings. Mass stabbings. Bombings. Terrorists. Bullying to the point of suicide. It makes me sad for all the young people now- what’s going to be like in 20-30 years? What kind of issues will their kids have when they go to school? Anything can happen to any body at any time. Every single time you go to the store, or head into work, or the bank- it could always be your last. And I hate to even think about that, but it’s truth. I have many regrets in my life and I don’t want one to be “I wish I had told so-and-so how much they meant to me”. Make every moment count.

Usually the end of the year would cause me to think back and¬†wish¬†I had done this, or why didn’t I do that? I don’t regret anything this year, and I wouldn’t¬†change¬†a thing. I don’t have a lot, but I’m richly blessed with everything I need. I have an¬†unbelievable¬†set of parents, great sisters and brothers, and a son who is my absolute everything. 2012 was good to me- here’s hoping 2013 will be just as kind!

This post has been inspired by this Weekly Writing Challenge

2 thoughts on “A Year End Review

  1. Pingback: Wrapping up 2012 (just Three beautiful Sunsets) | Beyond Beauty Tips

Care to add anything? Play nice please...

