Chicago… Chicagoooo

Standard

Ahh, the joys of reminiscing. I just can’t stop thinking about this girl for the last couple days, and need to get it out on paper 🙂

Shortly after I graduated high school I moved to Chicago to become a nanny. I actually went to a ‘Nanny and Governess’ school (who knew those actually existed?), and they then found me a family to work for. This particular family was located in Chicago, and I was beyond excited and scared to move out there. I was from a small town, and at the time, we literally had Amish buggy’s out on the road at any given day. Moving to downtown Chicago? *GULP* Can you say culture shock. I remember during my ‘interview weekend’ with them the dad had taken me on the subway for my first time. I was in awe, and thought it was the coolest thing ever. My first time riding it alone after I moved there, I inadvertently got on the ‘Express’ train, and imagine my absolute horror when the train went speeding by my stop, along with the few before and after. I had no clue what I was doing, or going, I only knew for certain what stop I needed to get off at.

After being there for a few months, I still didn’t really know anyone, or have any friends. It was just me, the baby and their dog hanging out all day, everyday. The weekends I would wonder around downtown sightseeing. One day I had received a phone call from some random chick who said she was from the nanny school I went to but a year prior, and wanted to know if I wanted to meet up. So we made a play date, grabbed ‘our kids’, headed to the Lincoln Zoo. After that day, we became inseparable. We did everything together, and very quickly became closer than close. She was my only sanity in this new world I was in. As much as I enjoyed nanny-ing (or rather, as much as I enjoyed this little boy), I felt out-of-place. These people that I lived with were born in the money, and had a completely different way about them than anything I was familiar with. I did quite enjoy taking trips to Nantucket, private jets, extensive stays in North Carolina, but I never felt 100% comfortable with them. Christina was someone I could completely be myself with.

This is my absolute favorite picture of the two of us, taken many moons ago.

This is my absolute favorite picture of the two of us, taken many moons ago. (And kinda the only one of the both of us that’s appropriate for the interwebz)

After we both left our jobs, we moved in with a friend of hers for a time (nightmare!), until we had enough for our own place. We ended up getting nanny jobs for two best friends (how fitting) in the Northern Suburbs and whose children were also best friends, and about the same ages. Not only did we live together, travel to and from work together, and spend most of our days working together, we still couldn’t wait for the weekends when we had nothing but time to spend with each other. We very rarely fought (and if we did I don’t remember) and it never mattered what we did, as long as we did it together. We actually ended up moving back to her hometown near Springfield, Ill for a few months until the family I was nanny-ing for begged me enough to come back to them. About a year and a half after I moved back to Chicago, I became pregnant, and moved back to Ohio. At first she and I talked all. the. time after I moved to Ohio, and slowly the conversations became fewer and farther between. Every now and again one of us would reach out, but it wasn’t the same. We both had a child a few months apart (hers was even given my name! Awww.), and life happened. I went out to visit her a couple times, but haven’t seen her in years. I miss her and it sucks. *sigh*

She and I got in touch the other night, and ‘text-talked’ for a few hours. It was so amazing bringing up some of our old times, and getting filled in on each others’ life. However, the only down side to that is the more we talk, the more I miss her. Like miss her it actually hurts. She and I have been through a lot of things, have had some amazing times, and shared a ridiculous amount of laughs and tears together. I loved her family; her mom was like my own, but her brother was NOT like a brother (I kinda had a lil crush on him…lol). She’s an amazing person, and I miss her like crazazy.

Love you Sheesh 🙂

4 thoughts on “Chicago… Chicagoooo

  1. Awwww. Such a sweet n awesome blog!! I miss u oh so much
    also. It brings me sucha a bipolar mix of feelings. Such an awesome
    story to share with our kids. I had always hopped they would grow
    up together but who knows maybe this great adventure we call life
    will bring them together or may they meet friends that mean each
    other to them as us to eachother. Love ya too speck.. IM proud of u
    as a mother ~ provider n friend.

Care to add anything? Play nice please...

