He’s JUST like me.

Standard
Image courtesy of Photokanok at FreeDigitalPhotos.net

Image courtesy of Photokanok at FreeDigitalPhotos.net

I apologize all the time, and sometimes even irritate myself with my abundance of apologies. But I’d hate for anyone to be upset with me for any reason, and wanna just nip that in the bud. I am forgetful, and sometimes a little spacey. Often times I am in my own world, and I’m usually happier that way. I love to daydream, and there aren’t many times when I’m not. If I don’t write things down, I’ll forget. Not because I don’t care, but because I truly can NOT remember. My dad always tell me “It’s a good thing your butt’s attached…” And it’s true. Otherwise, I’d forget that too.

Some people live and breathe by the planets and their positions, and what that means for them. Some stay as far away from that stuff as possible. I am somewhere in the middle. While I don’t follow my horoscope, I do know what the Pisces sign says about people born under that time. I happen to be everything a Pisces sign in said to be. For example:

“Pisces are extremely sensitive and loyal. At their truest, they are crystal clear, unselfish, devoted, demanding little, always sacrificing themselves for others. They are easygoing, affectionate, and submissive and offer no threat or challenge to stronger and more exuberant characters. They tend to withdraw into their own dream world as a retreat from the harsh reality of day-to-day living and the inability to cope with real life.”

Characteristics:

  • Shy
  • Romantic
  • Trustworthy/Loyal/Devoted
  • Aloof/Dreamy
  • Understanding/Accepting
  • Compassionate
  • Sensitive
Image courtesy of farconville at FreeDigitalPhotos.net

Image courtesy of farconville at FreeDigitalPhotos.net

Likes…

  • Romance
  • Being loved / wanted
  • Freedom
  • Privacy

Dislikes…

  • Noise
  • Crowds
  • Tight spaces
  • Confrontations/fighting
  • Revealing private life

If you aren’t lucky enough to know me in the ‘real world’, then just know that you do now.

I have always known that Elijah was more me than his dad (thank God. He did get his looks from his dad, but everything else he got from me). He is constantly forgetting things the second I say something to him. He can walk right past his winter coat when there is a blizzard raging outside and act surprised when I tell him he needs it. He is forever off in his own land, and can get lost in a book just as quickly as I can (which I love). This past week though, it really got to me. I’m sure my extra annoyance at some of his traits are due to several factors that I will not get into right now, but Tuesday morning I was annoyed beyond belief. And then I thought “I wonder if this is how people around me feel about me?!?” The “Oh, I forgot” and “I’m sorry” and “Oops! Forgot” grated under my skin so bad I thought my head might explode. And I’m pretty sure I couldn’t recover from that. He is me but in male form. Aloof, dreamy, forgetful, sensitive, every single trait that I added above, Elijah is. (However much unlike me, he is quite the social butterfly. I would rather be at home alone watching a movie or reading a book. He on the other hand would rather be the center of attention at a party, or be surrounded by his friends). I don’t know if it’s because he forgets things so much that annoys me, or the fact I was hoping he’d be different than me that irritates me. Surely I can’t be annoyed that he is a little ditzy at times (really aren’t we all at some point or another?). We can’t all GET everything all the time now can we? I haven’t quite figured out the why or how of why I’m ridiculously annoyed by his being just like me, but I am.

5 thoughts on “He’s JUST like me.

  1. Pingback: When You Treat Your Child as a “Slave and Such”… | Chatter From a Single Mom

  2. Pingback: “Whose dad?” « Chatter from a Single Mom

  3. Sometimes the things that we know are our weak points are the things that annoy the fire out of us in others. God made us ON PURPOSE the way we are and celebrate your uniqueness. Ricky and I love you and Elijah just the way you are, You will have great stories to remember when Elijah has moved out and life is quiet. They are only “little” for a short time. Love ya R

Care to add anything? Play nice please...

