Call Me, Maybe

Standard

Sometimes no matter how badly I’d like to write a post, I got nothing. I have nothing to say, nothing to write about. Then I feel like I’m slacking, and then I try harder to think of something to say, and then my head explodes. Well, that’s never actually happened yet, but it totally could (just stay out of the splash zone kids). So to help with that, and avoid potentially large messes, I subscribe to The Daily PostThis was today’s helpful idea:

Describe your relationship with your phone. Is it your lifeline, a buzzing nuisance, or something in between?

Bonus- he's a cop ;)

Bonus- he’s a cop 😉

I think I have a love/hate relationship with my phone. Most of the time, I keep it right next to me, just in case. Just in case what, I don’t know. I’ve never received that one phone call informing me that I won an all expense paid vacation to Hawaii for life, or from Channing Tatum saying he realizes he truly loves me, and not his amazingly gorgeous preggers wife. Nor have I received a call from my distant relative in Nigeria telling me that my 20 million dollars that was left to me from that one Prince has gone into my account (I totally sent him the $1000 he needed to make that transaction happen. Not sure what the hold up is…). In any case, the phone just never rings from those three. But in all seriousness, I will sometimes hold my phone as I walk from room to room, like a moron. I will go from game to game to game and check Facebook every 8 minutes, because someone might post something amazing (rare). It’s kind of sickening actually, now that I see it in black and white. And then there are some days when I could care less if everyone in my phone book called and texted me; I’d rather put a fork in my eye and twist it then do anything on my phone. I will leave it on silent, and leave it where it may lie- my purse, coat pocket, or in my car. I don’t have the urge to check it, and I just hope that if there were a family emergency, someone would drive to my house, since we all live within 5 minutes of each other. Sometimes as long as I’m with Elijah, I don’t care how many calls I may or may not miss. (And those are usually the days that I miss them- doesn’t it always happen that way?). I don’t care to see someone posting on Facebook every 5 minutes cute little meme’s meant for only one other person, or seeing grown (used loosely here. See how I spelled that right? Loose, not lose) people act like a high school-er for attention or whatever. I don’t care if I don’t play a game for a day or two, or miss an email. I care that Elijah is right there and he wants me to watch him play this game, or he wants quiet reading time together so we can cuddle on the couch, or he wants me to listen to a new song he learned on his trumpet. He won’t always want to cuddle me, or care if I watch him play a game, or want to show me the new notes he learned how to play. He won’t want to follow me from room to room as I do things, “just to talk” (kid totally knows how to melt my heart). And he is more important than any sort of electronic communication I could ever get.

Image courtesy of Ohmega1982 at FreeDigitalPhotos.net

Image courtesy of Ohmega1982 at FreeDigitalPhotos.net

Although, seriously, I wouldn’t mind that Nigerian confirmation call- 20 mill could buy a lot of vacations! 🙂

17 thoughts on “Call Me, Maybe

  1. I’ve been wanting to write about the same exact thing! I’m guilty of it too at times but I’ve really tried to carve out an hour in the morning and an hour at night to do my online stuff. When I notice it’s getting bad I take a hiatus…especially from Facebook! Thanks for sharing so openly. Found you on Big Foot Tribe’s Friday Connect. Happy Friday.

    • Thanks for stopping by! It’s sad how quickly and easily the smallest things can sometimes take over our lives. And Facebook is the thing I love to take a break from the most 🙂

  2. I actually get weird looks if I admit to turning off my phone and computer over the weekend. That is family time. My hubby and my kids deserve me in the moment.
    I’m not hooked on my phone at all.
    I also don’t allow any electronics on at dinner time. Period. My teen and tween are totally okay with that. Stopping by to say Hi from MeloMomma’s blog hop. Happy Friday!

  3. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Call Me, Maybe … or Ring, Ring | Fasting, Food and other musings by determined34

  4. Pingback: Big Phonale – A Daily Prompt Post | Edward Hotspur

  5. Pingback: WE CALLED EACH OTHER ALL SUMMER « hastywords

  6. Oh my gosh! I am always looking at my laptop, phone or Kindle! I totally can’t help it. It’s as if I think that one device will show me something different than the others. I am thankful for all of the technology, but I do wonder how life would be without some things. A part of me thinks that life would be more enjoyable and productive. But then again, without my devices, I wouldn’t have been able to see the awesome pic of Mr. Tatum that you included here. And, well, every girl needs to see some of that! 😉

    • I agree! I’m always afraid I might miss something important, all the while I am already missing something right in front of me.

      Yes, every girl needs a little Channing in their life. YUM! 🙂

  7. I have a loved-one who uses their phone, and now and ipad the day long leaving their children wanting attention. It’s sad that they do this, but they cannot be made to understand how much time they actually spend on the devices.

    • I agree. I have to admit, I’ve been that person. It’s sometimes hard to see just how reliable some of us have come to be on electronic devices.

      Thanks for stopping by! 🙂

Care to add anything? Play nice please...

