When You Treat Your Child as a “Slave and Such”…

Standard

I had another bout of insomnia last night. It’d been a while since I’ve had an issue, so at least I am grateful for that. I woke up at 1 am, after barely being asleep at all, and I knew I was going to be awake for the long haul. So I did what any normal person would do and trolled Facebook. I’m not sure what the rules are on showing screenshots on other people’s Facebook comments and statuses, so I just have to hope for the best in this situation I guess. I took out the names of the people who made them (except my own). And let’s be honest here- I don’t really have a HUGE following, so… I’m pretty sure I’ll be OK.

screen shot

After reading that, I was even more awake since I was now worked up. I’m not saying that I am a perfect mom, or that I have the right to be doling out advice here, but seriously are you kidding me?!? Personally I don’t know many people who would agree with little Missy about only having your child go to school and nothing else. Not allowing your child to do anything isn’t going to teach him anything except relying on others for the rest of his life. My son is 11- he is the sole trash-taker-outer (gasp!). He has chores he must do everyday after school, including putting dishes away, dusting, and picking up after himself, among other things. Oh my gosh- someone please call the authorities, because obviously I’m slave-driving Elijah all over the place. I know that I am too lax on him at times, and don’t always enforce the rules, which don’t do him any favors. I let him get away with too much at times, and sometimes don’t let him get away with enough. NO parent is perfect. But raising your kids and teaching them that they don’t have to do anything so as not to be treated as “slaves and such” is only going to teach them to depend on everyone else for everything. What’s going to happen when they get their first job, and don’t want to do something? Are they going to ask the boss to do it because it’s their job?

Saying things I normally wouldn’t say is something new to me. Normally I don’t like to say anything that could potentially rock the boat and make waves. I’m a Pisces you know 😉 I’m quiet, and I’d rather just let things go than possibly make someone upset at me. In the last few months I’ve noticed that I have begun speaking up, and making comments on things I normally would just let slide. I think I have finally reached the point in my life when I am tired of allowing people to walk all over me. I have allowed it because I think that I don’t deserve to be treated any better than that, I suppose. And finally after 34 years of letting people treat me poorly, I’m starting to stand up for myself a little bit. For instance, I’m pretty sure I just ended a 9 year friendship last night, for saying what was on  my mind. I’ve tortured myself for the last several weeks over this dude. We’ve been friends for a long time, we tried dating, and it obviously didn’t work. He handled the situation in the worst way possible, and I was trying to make something that wasn’t there, there. I was giving him the benefit of the doubt over and over and over, and in turn I was allowing him to treat me like crap. After a very short conversation last night I left him with a snarky comment, and didn’t hear back from him. At this point, I don’t even care. Friendship be damned- I deserve much better than I allow people to treat me, and no one else is sticking up for me, so I better do it. I get that everyone goes through issues, and everyone goes through some selfish times in their life, but at some point enough is enough.

I’m not really sure what got me going on that little tangent there, but there you have it. Don’t treat your child like a slave, and speak up for yourself. My advice for the day 🙂

2 thoughts on “When You Treat Your Child as a “Slave and Such”…

  1. Gah! I thought I came back to reply to this and I didn’t. Slacker.

    I’m a total “slave driver” apparently. My kids have a chore chart in addition to things they just need to do to as part of this family. They’re not infants, they’re kids and are perfectly capable of putting dishes in the sink and clothes in the hamper. I’m their mother, not their maid! (and if I’m going to play maid, I’d like a pay increase, please)

    • Haha- me too! I could NOT agree more with you. I think MOST parents teach their kids responsibility. Those who didn’t, probably wish they had. Or they can all be spoiled and rotten together 😉 I knew a few of those…

Care to add anything? Play nice please...

