Pancake Muffins

Standard

image_4I saw a recipe for Pancake Squares over here at Saving 4 Six that piqued my interest. We love pancakes in our house, the only problem is sitting down together and eating them while they are still warm. My nephew spent the night this weekend, and I thought it’d be a perfect time to try them. Rather than baking them in a pan, I made them in a muffin pan instead.  And since their bellies are never actually full and they always need to munch on something, despite the fact they just ate, these were perfect for the little guys to walk around the house eating (mostly) mess-free.  Here’s what you’ll need:

1 1/2 cups milk
4 tablespoons melted butter
2 eggs (beaten)
2 tablespoons sugar
2 cups flour
4 teaspoons baking powder
1/2 teaspoon salt

Preheat oven at 350 degrees. Combine all ingredients and pour into pan.

The original recipe calls for baking in a greased 9×13 pan for 25 minutes. I used a muffin pan, greased, and baked for about 20 minutes, give or take (I have to be completely honest, I didn’t pay super attention to the time I set on the timer).  But, these turned out delicious regardless!

image_31

I think next time we make these I will add some blueberries to the mix since Elijah LOVES blueberries. What I like about these is that they can be made in advance and quickly heated up in the morning before school.

Elijah requested these be made with the syrup inside (much like a McGriddle I think). I have no idea how I would even begin to do that (Well I have ideas, I just don’t think they are GOOD ones). Please tell me that there is someone out there with an idea? I was afraid that it would be too runny to cook the muffins with the syrup inside, but I’m not really sure. Any ideas??

2 thoughts on “Pancake Muffins

  1. Oh, my kids love all breakfast food and bonus for anything that is quick/easy and we can all eat together! I’ll bet you could add sausage or cooked bacon and cheese to the middle and make them like a little breakfast sandwich. mmm. YUM.

Care to add anything? Play nice please...

