Potatoes, Potatoes, and MORE Potatoes!

Standard

OK, so I bought a mandolin slicer about two months ago, and let it sit unopened in my cabinet. I finally decided to pull it out the other day. I immediately fell in love, and was ridiculously upset with myself for not getting it out sooner. It wasn’t a real expensive one, just one I happened upon on Amazon. But it is definitely my new best friend. I’d date it if I could.

Nevermind the dirty cutting board under, or the junk behind- isn’t he beautiful?

I even like the little house he came in 🙂

I know it’s a little ridiculous that in all the years I’ve been around, I have JUST recently purchased one of these bad boys. Once I tried it, I couldn’t stop. And the only edible thing in my house I had to slice was potatoes. So I’ve sliced the crap out of all the potatoes in my house over the last couple days. I made fried potatoes and two types of chips- the “healthier” in the microwave version and of course I fried some in oil. I don’t like to discriminate.

I got this amazing recipe for Fried Potatoes at Can’t Stay Out of the Kitchen and decided I had to try them that night! There were a few differences between mine and hers. Differences which I will not do again. Rather then cube mine, I sliced them thinly.

This is how everything I made started out. Sliced perfection.

I didn’t have any rosemary, so that was left out as well.  I added black pepper, paprika, dill weed and garlic powder. And a smidge of olive oil to the pan.

Spices. Obviously.

Then I cut up some green onions and added them as well. This is the masterpiece I had before I cooked them up.

Before

After

I am certain the next time I make them, I will not deviate from her recipe. Although mine were good, her’s looked much better.

After those, I decided to make some chips. I made a batch in the microwave (shook them in a bag with a bit of olive oil, placed them on a paper towel on a microwave safe plate for 5-7 minutes. Obviously  your times could vary- check after 5 minutes, and add time in small increments)

Microwaved chips

and a batch several fried in oil.

Mmmm… fried.

Elijah enjoyed the chips from the microwave just fine. However, he prefered the chips I fried. I mean, who doesn’t like something cooked in near boiling oil? It makes everything taste better.

So there you have it. My obsession with my slicer. And potatoes. And all things fattening.

3 thoughts on “Potatoes, Potatoes, and MORE Potatoes!

Care to add anything? Play nice please...