Brown Sugar Body Scrub

Standard

I can not believe how I have neglected my blog lately! Life just keeps getting in the way. I have all these blog post ideas written all over in the most random of places. Everyday I say, “Oh, I’ll update tomorrow, I don’t have time today.” Well- it’s FINALLY tomorrow people! Plus, what I made last night, can’t wait. It was easy, quick and not only that can make the perfect Christmas gift for someone 🙂

My little sister had an Arbonne party a few weeks back. I won a small container of the body scrub, and Elijah is obsessed with it. Obsessed. He asks me all the time if I can “do the foot thing” on him. As much as I love him, I have a hard time with the price of any store bought body scrub, especially as much as he wants to use it! So I decided to research body scrubs and see what I could come up with. I had no idea they could be so easy to make- seriously. I have psoriasis on my hands and have a hard time using lotions and things with scents in them, so I always have to look for fragrance free things- especially in the winter time. I was specifically looking for something that didn’t have anything extra added to irritate my hands, and though I didn’t find exactly what I was looking for, I modified a few of them to get what I wanted.

Here is what I used:

1 cup brown sugar
1/2 light extra virgin olive oil
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
1 tablespoon honey (Elijah has really dry skin)

image

Put all ingredients in a bowl

image_2

Mix well.

image_4

And the final product- transfer to another container

I just used an old container of cream I had. I washed it out and used that to transfer it all over. In another, “pretty” container, this would make a great gift- and it’s so cheap! You can add essential oils to create different smells, but I just can’t use them 😦 I love the way brown sugar and vanilla smells- I think it smells good just the way it is. You can also use plain sugar or salt, but salt is a little rougher on the skin. The possibilities are endless really. This is also a great way to exfoliate your chapped lips in the winter!

Do any of you use body scrubs, or make your own? Care to share the recipes? 🙂

3 thoughts on “Brown Sugar Body Scrub

  1. Pingback: You Can Find Me Here… « Chatter from a Single Mom

  2. that is definitely going to be on my list of things to do this month. I know what you mean by not getting around to writing on the blogs. I finally got two blog posts out yesterday, but it’s been a little bit as I am going through a lot of issues with criminal neighbors right now it is not funny one bit. It would be my Christmas gift to see these people death threatening me leave for good.

Care to add anything? Play nice please...